Acknowledgement of Traditional Territories

The College of New Caledonia is honoured to work with Indigenous communities of this region, inclusive of the First Nations, Mètis and Inuit peoples. We acknowledge the graciousness of the First Nations peoples in welcoming those who are seeking knowledge to their traditional territories:

  • ?Esdilagh (Alexandria) First Nation
  • Binche Whut’en First Nation
  • Burns Lake Band (Ts’il Kaz Koh)
  • Cheslatta Carrier Nation
  • Kwadacha Nation
  • Lake Babine Nation
  • Lhtako Dene First Nation
  • Lheidli T’enneh First Nation
  • Lhoosk’uz Dene Nation
  • McLeod Lake Indian Band (Tse’Khene Nation)
  • Nadleh Whut’en
  • Nak’azdli Whut’en
  • Nazko First Nation
  • Nee Tahi Buhn Band
  • Saik’uz First Nation
  • Skin Tyee Nation
  • Stellat’en First Nation
  • Takla Nation
  • Tl’azt’en First Nation
  • Tsay Keh Dene Nation
  • Wet’suwet’en First Nation
  • Yekooche First Nation

It is important to acknowledge the participation of other Aboriginal groups whose contribution and commitment to Aboriginal communities also make the Aboriginal Service Plan a success: Carrier Sekani Tribal Council, PG Nechako Aboriginal Employment & Training Association, Mètis Nation of BC, Prince George Native Friendship Centre, North Cariboo Family Program, Cariboo Chilcotin Aboriginal Training Centre, Tillicum Friendship Centre, and Aboriginal representatives from the University of Northern British Columbia (UNBC), the School Districts of Nechako-Lakes (91), Prince George (57), and Quesnel (28).